EXTERNAL RESOURCES
The following resources are in no way an exhaustive list and more information is added as it is found.
Below are some career resources you may find useful:

Career Planning

Career Search - https://www.onetonline.org/  
The Benefits of Creating a Career Development Plan - https://online.york.ac.uk/resources/aspiring-senior-managers-guide/benefits-of-career-plan/
Career Assessment - https://www.cacareerzone.org/
Career Planning Process - http://www.careercentre.dtwd.wa.gov.au/CareerPlanning/Pages/CareerPlanning-
Developing a career plan - https://www.livecareer.com/quintessential/career-plan 
Practice Aptitude Tests - https://practicereasoningtests.com/
Career Coach - https://www.facebook.com/icareercoach
The Job Connect - https://www.thejobconnect.co/
Work Consultancy - https://www.theworkservice.com
Prepped | Accelerate Your Job Search | Career Search Tools - https://www.fullyprepped.ca/
 

Resume Building

Writing A Resume - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/resumewriting 
Sample Resumes - http://www.careeronestop.org/ResumeGuide/MoreSampleResumes.aspx  
How to Write a Resume - https://zety.com/blog/how-to-make-a-resume
Step-by-step guide to writing a cover letter - https://zety.com/blog/how-to-write-a-cover-letter  
Resume Tips Video -  https://www.ziprecruiter.com/blog/tips-to-make-your-resume-the-best-it-can-be/
College Graduate Resume - https://zety.com/blog/college-graduate-resume-example
A guide to writing a functional resume - https://zety.com/blog/functional-resume
Cover letter templates https://jofibo.com/cover-letter-templates 
Resume Templates - https://zety.com/blog/free-resume-templates   
Professional Photos - https://passport-photo.online/blog/linkedin-profile-photo-guidelines/
 

Internships and Job Search

European internship - https://epso.europa.eu/job-opportunities/traineeships_en
Job Searching Help - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/jobsearchandnetworking/find-a-job-online/1/
Employability Skills - http://www.youthcentral.vic.gov.au/jobs-careers/planning-your-career/employability-skills
Caribbean Jobs - www.caribbeanjobs.com
Favio Barbados - https://www.facebook.com/FAVIOGROUP/
My Caribbean Jobs - https://www.mycaribbeanjobs.com/
Indeed Job Board -  www.indeed.com
Glassdoor Job Board - https://www.glassdoor.com
Job Seekers International - http://jobseekersinternational.net/
Caricom Skills Certificate - https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/csme/travel/
UK Visa - https://www.gov.uk/browse/visas-immigration/work-visas
Canadian Embassy - https://www.international.gc.ca/country-pays/barbados-barbade/bridgetown.aspx?lang=eng
How to Optimize Your LinkedIn Profile to Get More Jobs - https://zety.com/blog/optimize-your-linkedin-profile
The World Bank Programs & Internships - https://www.worldbank.org/en/about/careers/programs-and-internships/internship
Caribbean Internship Project (CIP) - link to internship page
Ministry of Labour - Barbados Services - https://labour.gov.bb/employment-services/
Opportunities to teach English in China:
Visit www.thebridgesuccess.com or email Michael Jiang @ mjiang@thebridgesuccess.com to learn about teaching opportunities in China.

 

Interview Skills

Interview Preparation - http://www.youth.gc.ca/eng/topics/jobs/interview.shtml
Interview Guidelines - https://nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/get-a-job/interview-advice
Interview Tips - http://www.careeronestop.org/jobsearch/interview/interview-tips.aspx
Guide to answering common interview questions - https://zety.com/blog/job-interview-questions-and-answers
Smart Answers to The Most Difficult Job Interview Questions - https://digital.com/blog/interview-questions/
Interview Tips to Get the Job | 5 Things You Need to Ace the Interviewhttps://youtu.be/QkPRpz56aEg
Interview Question: "What Are Your Salary Expectations" - https://www.thebalancecareers.com/interview-questions-about-your-salary-
Job Interview Good Example - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVAMb6Kui6A
How to Use the STAR Interview Response Technique - https://www.thebalancecareers.com/what-is-the-star-interview-response-technique-2061629
Job Interview Questions and Answers - STAR Interview Method and Examples - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdWYB2XO0uI
Interview tip: What are your salary expectations? - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNp5y0Z71bw
Video Interviews - https://practicereasoningtests.com/video-interviews/
 

SKILL DEVELOPMENT

 Learning a Foreign Language
Cave Hill Language Department - https://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/fhe/LLL/programmes/disciplines/modern-languages.aspx
Venezuelan Institute Of Culture & Co-operation - https://www.visahq.com/venezuela/embassy/barbados/
Alliance Française de Bridgetown - https://www.facebook.com/alliancefrancaisedebridgetown/
 
Understanding Data Science
Applications of data science - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/industry/
List of possible careers - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/careers/

Career Center with information on various STEM related career paths.
https://www.discoverdatascience.org/career-information/
Resources for people interested in pursuing a STEM related career (such as a great Women in STEM guide)
https://www.discoverdatascience.org/resources/

Comprehensive listings of schools offering bachelor, master, certificate, and Ph.D programs.

https://www.discoverdatascience.org/programs/
 
Technology
Barbados ICT Professionals' Association - http://barbadosict.org/   
Caribbean Network Operators Group -https://www.caribnog.org/  
Barbados Chapter of the Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) - https://barbados.issa.org/
Computer Science Society – Student Society - https://www.exeterguild.org/societies/css/
Internet Society - https://www.internetsociety.org/become-a-member/
Trinidad and Tobago - www.isoc.tt / ; Email: executive_committee@isoc.tt
Saint Vincent and The Grenadines - www.isoc.vc
Dominica - www.isoc.dm; Email: uwilliams@ectel.int
Digital Portfolios - https://github.com/  
App Development - https://signup.heroku.com/php

 

Professional Associations

The Barbados International Business Association - http://biba.bb/students-corner/
The Institute of Chartered Accountants Barbados - www.icab.bb
The Barbados Chamber of Commerce - http://www.barbadoschamberofcommerce.com/
Human Resource Management Association of Barbados Inc. - http://www.hrmab.org.bb/
Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation - http://www.barbadosentrepreneurshipfoundation.org/
Barbados ICT Professionals' Association - http://barbadosict.org/
Youth Affairs - http://youthaffairs.gov.bb/
Barbados Bar Association - http://www.barbadosbarassociation.com
Barbados Coalition of Service Industries - http://bcsi.org.bb
Barbados Estate Agents & Valuers Association Inc. - http://www.beavainc.com
Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association - http://www.bhta.org
Barbados Manufacturers Association - http://www.bma.bb
Barbados Private Sector Trade Team - http://tradeteam.bb
Barbados Employers Confederation - http://barbadosemployers.com/
Barbados Stock Exchange - http://www.bse.com.bb
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados - http://www.icab.bb
The Institute of Internal Auditors Barbados Chapter - https://chapters.theiia.org/barbados
The Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI)https://ylai.state.gov/about-ylai/
TVET Council - https://www.tvetcouncil.com.bb/
The Institute of Internal Auditors Barbados Chapter - https://chapters.theiia.org/barbados
To learn more about The Institute of Internal Auditors Barbados Chapter, please click here.
 

International Certification and Professional Designations

US based professional associations - https://www.onetonline.org/ 
CFA - https://www.cfainstitute.org/
SHRM certification https://www.shrm.org/certification/pages/default.aspx
CPA - www.cpacanada.ca (Effective July 2020 for Canadian residents only)
ACCA - https://www.accaglobal.com/ie/en/footer-toolbar/contact-us/regional-network.html

Corporations in Barbados

Government Ministries and notices - https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/
Barbados Investment & Development Corporation - http://www.bidc.com
Barbados Tourism Authority - http://visitbarbados.org
Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. - http://www.barbadostourisminvestment.com
Central Bank of Barbados - http://centralbank.org.bb
Invest Barbados - http://investbarbados.org
Corporate Affairs - Intellectual Property Office - https://caipo.gov.bb/home/index.php

Regional and International Agencies

Caribbean Development Bank - http://www.caribank.org
Caribbean Tourism Organization - http://www.onecaribbean.org
Delegation of the European Union to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean - https://ec.europa.eu/international-partnerships/where-we-work/caribbean_en
Office of Trade Negotiations - http://crnm.org
Inter-American Development Bank - http://iadb.org
Pan-American Health Organization - http://www.paho.org/ecc
CARICOM (Caribbean Community) - http://caricom.org/community/institutions


Remote Work - Maintaining Health & Wellbeing

Burnout in the Digital Age: How to Avoid Workplace Stress
https://www.thanksben.com/how-to-avoid-workplace-burnout-stress-in-the-digital-age
Remote Working & Mental Health: A Young Professional’s Guide - https://www.helloezra.com/remote-work-mental-health/
The Complete Guide to Insomnia - and How You Can Manage It
https://howtosleep.co.uk/guides/the-complete-guide-to-insomnia
Understanding Screen Addiction and Responsible Digital Use - https://www.comparethemarket.com/broadband/content/screen-usage-guide/
Working from Home: A Guide to Creating a Healthy and Productive Workspace - https://www.cotswoldco.com/working-from-home/index.html

 

The Office of Student Services
Tel.: (246) 417-4165/6/7 Fax: (246) 424-5348 | Email: studentservices@cavehill.uwi.edu