Research Support
Standard Information Required on Applications
Applications for grant funding normally require general information about the institution.  This page provides some of the most commonly requested information.

Identity of The University

  • Official Name: The University of the West Indies
  • Abbreviation: UWI
  • Registration Number or Equivalent: Royal Charter
  • Date of Registration: January 05, 1949
  • Place of Registration: Jamaica
  • Country of Registration/Nationality: Not applicable, UWI is located in and serves 15 countries
  • Legal Status: Non-profit Public Tertiary Education Institution
  • Legal Entity File Number (PANDOR): 6000139271
  • E-mail address of the Organisation: (for research proposals)
  • Telephone number: +868-662-5023 or +868-645-3941
  • Fax number: +868-663-7741
  • Website:

Authorised Signatory

  • Campus Principal:
Violet Eudine Barriteau,  PhD,GCM
Professor of Gender and Public Policy
Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal
The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus

Telephone:  (246) 417 4030
Fax:  (246) 417 0246

The University of the West Indies
Cave Hill Campus
P.O.Box 64
BB 11000

Financial Data (and assistance with budget preparation)

  • Contact the Campus Bursary - Budgets and Projects Section

Mission, Vision and Strategic Objectives

  • The University of the West Indies Strategic Plan, 2017-2022 contains the University's Mission, SWOT Analysis and Core Values along with the five year Vision and Stategic Objectives.  The Strategic Plan 2017-2022 and other related documents can be found on the webite of The University Office of Planning and Development here »

Structure and Composition

  • Names and Positions of Senior Authorities:
Name Profession Function
Mr. Robert Bermudez Business Man Chancellor
Professor Sir Hilary Beckles Academic Vice-Chancellor
Professor Eudine Barriteau Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal, Cave Hill Campus
Professor Dale Webber Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal, Mona Campus
Dr. Luz Longsworth Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal, Open Campus
Professor Brian Copeland Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor and Campus Principal, St Augustine

Professor Stephan Gift

Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor (Graduate Studies and Research)
Professor Densil A. Williams Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic - Industry Partnerships and Planning)
Professor Alan Cobley Academic Pro Vice-Chancellor (Undergraduate Studies)
Professor Ishenkumba Kahwa Academic Deputy Principal, Mona Campus
Professor Clive Landis Academic Deputy Principal, Cave Hill Campus

Professor Indar Ramnarine

Academic Deputy Principal, St. Augustine Campus
Mrs. Andrea McNish Administrator Bursar / Chief Financial Officer
Mr. C. William Iton Administrator University Registrar
Page last updated on 5 October 2018.
Research Support
Contact Us