Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates and Resources »
Back to Top
Close Menu
Centre for Professional Development and Lifelong Learning


Certificates Awarded

Delegates will receive one of the following certificates, depending on the type of short course:

  • Certificate of Completion – awarded for short courses which include a form of assessment.

  • Professional Development Certificate of Competence —awarded for short courses, which include formal assessment and do not require an undergraduate degree for entry.

  • Postgraduate Professional Development Certificate of Competence —awarded for short courses designed at the Postgraduate level which include formal assessment, and postgraduate standalone modules. These courses require the applicant to have an undergraduate degree for entry.

  • Certificate Programme Designation- awarded upon successful completion of a number of courses within a particular discipline/subject area specified by the Centre  (e.g. Certificate in Strategic Marketing, Certificate in Fundamentals of Gaming Development). These certificates can consist solely of short courses, solely of postgraduate modules or a combination of both.

CEUs and PDUs

Some of the Centre’s professional development offerings will carry Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or Professional Development Units (PDUs). CEUs are a recognized measurement of non-credit course work, which can be credited towards designations and memberships in varying associations, and professional bodies. The awarding policy for CEUs may vary across professional bodies and associations.
Though varying professional bodies and associations will assign CEUs to the Centre’s courses based on their individual requirements, the CPDLL has its own CEU awarding policy for its Professional Development courses (i.e. one (1.0) CEU may be awarded for every ten (10) hours of participation in an approved short course).
Professional Development Units (PDUs) refers to the educational metric that Project Management Institute (PMI) credential holders must achieve to maintain their PMI credentials. One (1) PDU is awarded for each contact hour of participation in a professional development activity. 

Visit the CPDLL FAQs for further details on Credit and Awards.