Back to Top
Close Menu

Faculty of Science and Technology

Department of Computer Science, Mathematics & Physics

Message from the Head of Department

Dr. Mechelle Gittens, Head of Department 
Senior Lecturer in Computer Science
Chair, Campus ICT Steering Committee

Welcome to the Department of Computer Science, Mathematics and  Physics (CMP). Our department is made up of five disciplines: Computer Science, Electronics, Mathematics, Physics and Software Engineering. These disciplines are crucial to the advancement of technology, analytics, engineering and the understanding of the physical aspects of the universe.

It is our focus to offer every student and visitor to our department an experience that sets you on the path to meeting your goals. We offer undergraduate programmes that will help those seeking to qualify themselves for work in the STEM driven industries of the region and beyond. The undergraduate offering also prepares students for local and international postgraduate programmes. Our postgraduate programmes foster innovation and invention and contribute to the scientific and engineering bodies of knowledge associated with the various disciplines.
Our Academic Staff are strong educators who also conduct research that drives paradigm shifts that impact the world that we live in through the development of new models, algorithms, theorems and processes. Our Administrative and Technical Staff is experienced, highly qualified, and very supportive of the development of our students and the department’s contribution to university work.

We invite you to visit the various links on our site to get an idea of who we are and what we can offer for your career and personal development. We also invite industrial and research collaboration and look forward to having discussions with organizations about your projects and ideas that require research and development expertise.

You may contact the CMP office or myself with questions that may arise. We are happy to help. We look forward to working with you toward your success.

Dr. Mechelle Gittens
Head of Department