Faculty of Science and Technology
About Us
The Department of Computer Science, Mathematics & Physics (CMP) came into existence under the vice chancellorship of Sir Alister McIntyre in 1989.
At that time, the Department of Mathematics administered Computer Science programme as a sub-discipline and was on the verge of making Computer Science a separate department. However this plan was revised and it was decided to that a multi-disciplinary department of Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics would be the way forward. The first head of this department was Prof. L. Leo Moseley  Emeritus Professor.
Since then, the department has been offering an extensive array of courses across the three disciplines at the undegraduate, graduate and doctoral levels. The department has also been instrumental in the wide scale adoption of computing technology on the Cave Hill Campus and was the birth place of the Campus I.T Services Department formerly known as the Computer Centre.
The current head of CMP is Dr. Janak Sodha.
The departmental office is currently located on the ground floor of the CMP building and is open from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM.

Should you have any queries or requests contact us via our contact page and our staff will be more than willing to assist you.
Department of Computer Science Mathematics & Physics
Phone: (246) 417-4365 Fax:(246) 438-9198 Email: cmp@cavehill.uwi.edu or Other Contacts