Current Students
Departmental Awards/Prizes
The Faculty of Social Sciences held its Annual Student Recognition Ceremony at 3W's Oval on October 19th, 2018.  The Department of Economics presented the following prizes:

Wendell McClean Memorial Prize
for the student who achieves the highest aggregate in Economic​ Theory in Level II examinations.
(Awarded to Zandra Gomes)    

Sir Arthur Lewis Memorial Prize for the most outstanding student graduating with a major in Economics.
(Awarded to Mawuli Marshall)

Charles M. Kennedy Prize
for the student with the highest marks in the BSc. Economics degree in the Final Year examinations in the Faculty across all three campuses.
(Awarded to Curtisha Prescod)

Llewyn Rock Memorial Prize
in Economics for the student obtaining the highest aggregate marks in Level II of the BSc. Economics programme with at least a B+ average. 
(Awarded to Natalie Arzu)

The Graduate Award
in Economics for the graduate student in any programme offered by the Department of Economics obtaining the highest average grade in their coursework (at least a B+ average) and a minimum of a B+ in their final research paper. 
(Awarded to Yanna Hughes)



Image result for central bank of barbados logo     Central Bank of Barbados Scholarship 

Cidel Bank & Trust Inc. Scholarship 

Enterprise Growth Fund Limited


      RBC Royal Bank Academic Bursary



Image result for central bank of barbados logo      Roland Craigwell Memorial Scholarship
(awarded by the Central Bank of Barbados)


Competition - Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute Research Challenge 
                       (February 2019)

The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus and CFA Society Barbados would like to congratulate five university students from the Department of Economics and the Department of Management Studies on their exemplary performance in the CFA Institute Atlantic Islands Research Challenge competition. This event took place at the University of Miami on February 22nd, 2019, after five months of ardent preparation.

The annual global competitions consist of four rounds. The first round involves the assessment of the research reports that allows for the selection of four teams. In the second round, the four teams present their research at the Atlantic Islands Final with the winner advancing to the “Americas” competition and then onto the Global Finals. Each team is required to research and scrutinize a publicly traded company – this year the assigned company is “The Walt Disney Company.”, a worldwide entertainment company. Additionally, an equity report is written with respect to a buy, sell, or hold recommendation for the DIS stock. Teams must present and defend their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

The team from Cave Hill Campus comprised of Jonathan Atherley, Zandra Gomes, Jaron Boyce, Wanda Monrose and Roberto Barnett. The five member team of graduate and undergraduate students major in the fields of Economics, Finance, Management, Financial Management and Wealth Management. In addition, particular acknowledgement must be given to the faculty mentor, Mr. Damien Gaskin (CFA), the industry mentor, Mr. Peter Arender (CFA) and faculty members, Dr. Dion Greenidge and Ms. Tracey Broome.

Other participants at the Finals of the Atlantic Islands round were the University College of the Cayman Islands, The University of the West Indies, Mona Campus and The University of the Bahamas. This year the winning team is from University College of the Cayman Islands.

Special thanks must also be extended to the CFA Society Barbados, especially to the President, Mr. Jamaal Roach (CFA), Mr. Jabari Banfield (CFA) and Ms. Jillian Nunes (CFA), for providing the University with the opportunity to participate in the CFA Institute Research Challenge. The challenge enabled our students to sharpen not only teamwork, time-management and leadership skills but also facilitated the application of their financial knowledge and theories to real-world issues.

Department of Economics
Telephone: (246) 417-4930/4279/4283 Fax: (246) 438-9104 E-mail: