Back to Top
Close Menu

Faculty of Social Sciences

About Us

Faculty Overview

The Faculty of Social Sciences is the largest faculty at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus and is comprised of three departments: Economics; Government Sociology, Social Work and Psychology; and Management Studies. The Faculty also exercises academic oversight over the Sagicor Cave Hill School of Business & Management and the Masters in International Trade Policy. We offer students a wide and diverse range of academically rigorous programmes at the graduate and undergraduate levels, and engage in world class research in a range of disciplines. Graduates from our various programmes play leading roles in the private sector, public sector and non-governmental organizations throughout the region and internationally.

History of the Faculty

Teaching in the Social Sciences at the Barbados Campus commenced in 1963 - within the Division of Arts and General Studies - at the Deep Water Harbour site. Economics was the sole traditional social science discipline taught during the 1960s. Political Science, Sociology, Management Studies, Accounting and Social Work were introduced during the 1970s and 1980s and Psychology in the year 2000. The other two teaching departments - Management Studies and Government, Sociology, Social Work & Psychology - grew out of the Economics Department. Prior to 1975, Social Sciences subjects were administered by the Faculty of Arts and General Studies (renamed the Faculty of Humanities and Education). In 1975, the Faculty of Social Sciences was established.