Department of History and Philosophy
CHiPS 2012: CONVERSATIONS VIII: Body, Mind, Cognition - Papers

Keynote Speaker Programme Abstracts Papers
This page contains the papers accepted for the Symposium. Please note that the texts are all in pdf format, for which you may need the Acrobat Reader, which can be acquired at Adobe.
Please note also that e-mail addresses have all been altered to include '' after the '@', so none of them will work as given.
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Limits of Affordances

Nikolai Alksnis
n.alksnis@latrobe.edu.au
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extending the Mind and the Descent of the Self

John Baldari
johnbaldari@gmail.com
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Towards a Respectable Panpsychism

Jeremy Willard Dillon
jeremy.w.dillon@wmich.edu
 
Read complete paper
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Indian Buddhist Theories of Persons

James Duerlinger
james-duerlinger@uiowa.edu
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What A Cartesian Passion Really Is: Implications for the Mind-Body Union

Abel B. Franco
abel.franco@yahoo.com
 
Read complete paper
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sartre and Neuroscience: Embodiment or Bad Faith?

Christian Gilliam
Christian.Gilliam.2011@live.rhul.ac.uk

Read complete paper (PDF)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving wisdom

Jesús Ilundain
jilunda@linfield.edu
 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

The Body in Female Writings of Francophone Africa and the Caribbean

Kahiudi Mabana
clmabana@hotmail.com
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

The Limits of the Interpretation Metaphor in Nietzsche's Theory of Cognition

Justin Marquis
justin.r.marquis@gmail.com

Read complete paper

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Embodied Cognition – Kant's Conceptual Architecture

Michael Thompson
mltphilosophy@gmail.com
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Formal Cognitive Architecture

Daniel Weissglass
dweissglass@gmail.com
 
Read complete paper
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Without A Standard Body: The Role of Cyborgs, Disabilities, and Other Atypical Bodies in Cognitive Embodiment Theories

Robin Zebrowski
zebrowsr@beloit.edu
 
Read complete paper


Faculty of Humanities and Education
Telephone: (246) 417-4385/87 Fax: (246) 424-0634 E-mail: humanities@cavehill.uwi.edu