Back to Top
Close Menu

Faculty of Law

About Us

Faculty Overview

The Faculty of Law offers both an undergraduate and postgraduate programme. The undergraduate programme is divided into 3 parts. Parts I – III are offered at the Cave Hill, St. Augustine and Mona campuses, with Part I (only) being offered at the Turkeyen Campus of the University of Guyana.

Students who graduate from the undergraduate programme are awarded the LL.B. (Bachelor of Law), while those who successfully complete graduate studies in the Faculty are awarded the Graduate Diploma, LL.M., M.Phil and Ph.D. The M.Phil and Ph.D. by research are available to suitably qualified candidates.

The Faculty of Law prides itself with being well equipped to provide legal education with modern day technologies accompanying well qualified expert staff, with both academic and practical expertise.The Faculty staff integrate with the wider legal community on matters ranging from legal advice to statutory analysis. Please see the Staff Profiles to get more information on our faculty members.

History of the Faculty 

The establishment of the Faculty of Law was an achievement of West Indian regional cooperation, promoted under the leadership of the late Sir Hugh Wooding and Sir Roy Marshall. The Faculty opened its doors in October 1970 to undergraduates with 24 students at Mona, 19 at St. Augustine, 35 at Cave Hill and 13 at the University of Guyana. The building at Cave Hill was first occupied during the academic year of 1973-1974, and the library’s resources became fully available for use for the first time.

For further information on the History of the Faculty of Law, please see ‘The Faculty of Law of the University of the West Indies: In Retrospect’ by Professor A.R. Carnegie available at the Faculty of Law Library, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados.