EXTERNAL RESOURCES
The following resources are in no way an exhaustive list and more information is added as it is found.
Below are some career resources you may find useful:

CAREER PLANNING

Career Search - https://www.onetonline.org/
Career Assessment - https://www.cacareerzone.org/
Career Planning Process - http://www.careercentre.dtwd.wa.gov.au/CareerPlanning/Pages/CareerPlanning-4StepPlanningProcess.aspx
Developing a career plan - https://www.livecareer.com/quintessential/career-plan
World of Work map - http://www.act.org/content/dam/act/unsecured/multimedia/wwmap/world.html
Career Coach - https://www.facebook.com/icareercoach/
The HR Boss - www.hrboss.com

RÉSUMÉ & COVER LETTER

Writing A  Resume - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/resumewriting
Sample Resumes - http://www.careeronestop.org/ResumeGuide/MoreSampleResumes.aspx
How to Write a Resume: A Step-By-Step Guide [+30 Examples] - https://zety.com/blog/how-to-make-a-resume
Step-by-step guide to writing a cover letter - https://zety.com/blog/how-to-write-a-cover-letter

 

JOB / INTERNSHIP SEARCH

Job Searching Help - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/jobsearchandnetworking/find-a-job-online/1/
Employability Skills -
http://www.youthcentral.vic.gov.au/jobs-careers/planning-your-career/employability-skills
Caribbean Jobs - www.caribbeanjobs.com
Favio Barbados -
https://www.facebook.com/FAVIOGROUP/

Job Seekers International - http://jobseekersinternational.net/
Caricom Skills Certificate - https://bac.gov.bb/Services/SkillsCertificate/
UK Visa - https://www.gov.uk/browse/visas-immigration/work-visas
Canadian Embassy - https://www.migrationexpert.ca/canadian-embassy/barbados
How to Optimize Your LinkedIn Profile to Get More Jobs - https://zety.com/blog/optimize-your-linkedin-profile
The World Bank Programs & Internships - Click here
Caribbean Internship Project (CIP) - https://www.mona.uwi.edu/socialwork/caribbean-internship-project​
Opportunities to teach English in China:
•    Read this power point to learn more about Teaching opportunities in China/Shenzhen. Click here
•    Visit www.thebridgesuccess.com or email Michael Jiang @ mjiang@thebridgesuccess.com to learn about teaching opportunities in China.

 

INTERVIEWS

Interview Preparation - http://www.youth.gc.ca/eng/topics/jobs/interview.shtml
Interview Guidelines - https://nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/get-a-job/interview-advice
Interview Tips - http://www.careeronestop.org/jobsearch/interview/interview-tips.aspx
Guide to answering common interview questions - https://zety.com/blog/job-interview-questions-and-answers
 

SKILL DEVELOPMENT

Learn a foreign Language
Cave Hill Language Department - http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/fhe/lll/modern-languages.aspx
Venezuelan Institute Of Culture & Co-operation - Grand View Rockley Christ Church [426-1051]
Alliance Française de Bridgetown - https://www.facebook.com/alliancefrancaisedebridgetown/
 
Learn Data Science
Applications of data science - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/industry/
List of possible careers - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/careers/


Career Center with information on various STEM related career paths.
https://www.discoverdatascience.org/career-information/

Resources for people interested in pursuing a STEM related career (such as a great Women in STEM guide)
https://www.discoverdatascience.org/resources/

 

Comprehensive listings of schools offering bachelor, master, certificate, and Ph.D programs.
https://www.discoverdatascience.org/programs/
 

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

The Barbados International Business Association - http://biba.bb/students-corner/
The Institute of Chartered Accountants Barbados - www.icab.bb
The Barbados Chamber of Commerce - http://www.barbadoschamberofcommerce.com/
Human Resource Management Association of Barbados Inc. - http://www.hrmab.org.bb/

Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation - http://www.barbadosentrepreneurshipfoundation.org/
Barbados ICT Professionals' Association - http://barbadosict.org/
Youth Affairs - http://youthaffairs.gov.bb/

Barbados Bar Association - http://www.barbadosbarassociation.com
Barbados Coalition of Service Industries - http://bcsi.org.bb
Barbados Estate Agents & Valuers Association Inc. - http://www.beavainc.com
Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association - http://www.bhta.org
Barbados Manufacturers Association - http://www.bma.bb
Barbados Private Sector Trade Team - http://tradeteam.bb
Barbados Stock Exchange - http://www.bse.com.bb
Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados - http://www.icab.bb

 
 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION

CFA - https://www.cfainstitute.org/
ACCA -www.caribbean.accaglobal.com
CPA - www.cpacanada.ca

SHRM certification https://www.shrm.org/certification/pages/default.aspx

GENERAL RESOURCES

Barbados Employers Confederation - http://barbadosemployers.com/
The Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI) - https://ylai.state.gov/about-ylai/

TVET Council - https://www.tvetcouncil.com.bb/


Government Ministries

Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs - http://www.economicaffairs.gov.bb
Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade - http://foreign.gov.bb
Ministry of Industry, International Business, Commerce & Small Business Development - http://www.commerce.gov.bb/website/


Government Corporations, Depts & Statutory Bodies

Barbados Investment & Development Corporation - http://www.bidc.com
Barbados Tourism Authority - http://visitbarbados.org
Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. - http://www.barbadostourisminvestment.com
Central Bank of Barbados - http://centralbank.org.bb
Invest Barbados - http://investbarbados.org


International Agencies

Caribbean Development Bank - http://www.caribank.org
Caribbean Tourism Organization - http://www.onecaribbean.org
Delegation of the European Union to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean - http://delbrb.ec.europa.eu
Office of Trade Negotiations - http://crnm.org
Inter-American Development Bank - http://iadb.org
Pan-American Health Organization - http://www.paho.org/ecc
CARICOM (Caribbean Community) - http://caricom.org/community/institutions

 

The Office of Student Services
Tel.: (246) 417-4165/6/7 Fax: (246) 424-5348 | Email: studentservices@cavehill.uwi.edu